who we are

This is the AF Team!




Schmidt III

  1. Email:  R.Schmidt-III@lboro.ac.uk
  2. Linked In


Rob is an architect and a Senior Research Associate on the Adaptable Futures project at Loughborough University. He has practiced and studied architecture in the USA, Japan and the UK.  He has received degrees from Iowa State University, The University of Tokyo and completed a PhD at Loughborough University.  He has received a number of recognitions for his student design work including the Jeffrey J. Pilling Scholarship for excellence in design and the Pella Architectural Scholarship.

He spent four years in New York working for the prestigious and award-winning firm, Herb Beckhard and Frank Richlan (HB+FR), a decedent firm of Marcel Breuer.  He has published several papers on the topic of adaptability and presented the research around the world.

Jose Evandro Henriques

  1. Email: eevandromoura@gmail.com | J.D.R.Henriques@lboro.ac.uk
  2. Linked In


José is an architect and a Research Associate on the Adaptable Futures project at Loughborough University. Currently, he is a PhD student at UFPE (Brazil) and an Academic Visitor in the School of Architecture, Building and Civil Engineering at Loughborough University. 

José holds a Master in Design (MDes) at UFPE (2022). He has studied Architecture in Brazil, at UFPE; in the USA, at Illinois Institute of Technology by the Brazil Scientific Mobility Program Scholarship granted by CAPES-CNPQ (2014-2015); and worked as a researcher at UFPE and in the School of Architecture at University of Southern California (2015). 

Mila Lima

  1. Email: milalima@id.uff.br
  2. Linked In


Mila is an architect and a Research Associate on the Adaptable Futures project at Loughborough University. She has studied in the School of Architecture and Urbanism at the Federal Fluminense University (Brazil) and she was also an intern at Greenest, a sustainability consulting company. 

Mila is interested in research about Design for Change, Adaptability in relation to Sustainability, sustainable building performance, passive design, and indoor environmental comfort.

AF Past Team Members

people who we are in debt to for their time and contribution to the research and have since moved on…

  • Dr. Katy Beadle (Bath University)
  • Dave Brown
  • Jason Deamer
  • Dr. Toru Eguchi (Yokohama National University)
  • Almudena Fulster (EMVS, Alcala University)
  • Peter Madden (Coventry University)
  • Christine Pasquire (Nottingham Trent University)
  • Vicky Storey (Nottingham University)
  • Zihan Wang
  • Alistair Gibb
  • Simon Austin
  • Andrew Dainty
  • James Saker
  • James Pinder
  • Graham Kelly
  • Rachael Grinnell

AF Industry & Academic Collaborators

active partners who meet with the research team periodically and provide crucial dialogue in developing the ongoing work.  Their generosity in time and ideas are greatly appreciated and make the research.

AF Contributors

practices and institutions that have helped the project along the way; some of which have played a more formal role than others, but all are graciously appreciated.

  • Ash Sakula
  • Development Securities
  • DFES (Education & Skills)
  • Savills
  • Stanhope
  • Arup
  • DEGW
  • Sheppard Robson
  • Corus
  • Mace
  • N G Bailey
  • Taylor Woodrow
  • Terrapin
  • Ball State University (Stephen Kendall)
  • TU Delft (Rob Geraedts)
  • TU Eindhoven (Schueblin)
  • VTT (Matti Hannus)
  • Stubbs Rich
  • Buildoffsite
  • Charnwood Borough Council
  • Constructing Excellence
  • EMDA